Board of Education Members

2023 Board of Education

Contact Information

You may reach the board members by email at the addresses listed below. To contact them by mail, please send your letter c/o the Superintendent's office at 434 Millburn Avenue, Millburn, NJ 07041. You may also call the Superintendent's office at 973-376-3600, x40151 to leave a message for a member of the Board.

Please follow the district's Channels of Communication to share concerns or ask questions of the appropriate staff member before addressing them to the Board of Education. 

Louie Shen, President
(2018 - 2023)
Email Louie Shen

Brian Lawrence, Vice President
(2021 - 2024)
Email Brian Lawrence

Jennifer Bhathena
(2022 - 2025)
Email Jennifer Bhathena

Asaf Farashuddin
Email Asaf Farashuddin

Kris Heinrichs
(2022 - 2025)
Email Kris Heinrichs

Neetu Salhotra
(2021 - 2024)
Email Neetu Salhotra

Viswa Reddy
(2022 - 2025)
Email Viswa Reddy

Jack Merimee
Email Jack Merimee

Alex Zaltsman
(2018 - 2023)
Email Alex Zaltsman

The Board Member as Representative

Source: NJSBA-Fundamentals of School Board Membership

School Board Candidacy

Important Dates for Board of Education Candidates 2021

Nominating Petitions are due to the County Clerk on Monday, July 26 by 4 pm

Everything you Need to Know about Running for School Board ... from the New Jersey School Boards Association

Essex County Clerk

Click here for County Clerk and Link to Nominating Petitions

Location: Essex County Clerk Election Division, Hall of Records, 465 Martin Luther King Blvd., Room 246, Newark, NJ 07102

Hours: Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Contact information: (973) 387-7311, ext. 7312 or via email

New Jersey School Boards Association

Candidate Information Page

Nominating Petition